Prof. Timothy Edward Long


Prof. Timothy Edward Long
Research Professor

Arizona State University
The Biodesign Institute
Center for Sustainable Macromolecular Materials and Manufacturing
727 E. Tyler St.
Tempe, AZ 85281-5001

Tel:+1 480-965-9539


Prof. Long maintains a vigorous partnership with diverse national and international industries, academic institutions, and national laboratories. As the Inaugural Center Director in the newly-formed ASU Biodesign Center for Sustainable Macromolecular Materials and Manufacturing (SM3) he strives to integrate and advance the concepts of green chemistry and sustainable engineering practices across the continuum of materials innovation to provide the products needed for a sustainable life. As a professor he has maintained a 10 to 20-member interdisciplinary research group and has received more than $50M in research funding over the past 23 years in academics. His group’s research goal integrates fundamental research in novel macromolecular structure and polymerization processes with the development of high-performance macromolecules for advanced technologies, including additive manufacturing (3D printing), drug and gene delivery, sustainable feed stocks, adhesives and elastomers, block copolymers and living polymerization, and biomaterials for health and energy with a keen focus on sustainability. Prof. Long has published more than 350 peer-reviewed publications and has obtained broad patent coverage on his research discoveries. Dr. Long has demonstrated a longstanding commitment to teaching and learning, from teaching at Arizona State University, Virginia Tech and several International Universities, to short courses for industrial scientists, to webinars, news segments, and radio interviews to the general-public.

Honors and awards

National Institute for Standards and Technology (NIST) TIPC Award ($500K/2 years), Designing a Sustainable Materials Curriculum

Department of Energy (DOE) REMADE, Advanced Manufacturing of Elastomers, together with Prof. Chris Williams at Virginia Tech

Department of Defense (DOD) SERDP, Designing Fluorine-Free Surfactants for Fire Suppression, together with Prof. Brian Lattimer at Virginia Tech

Honeywell FM&T, 3D Printing Polyimides, and Engineering Polymers

Awarded Paul J. Flory Polymer Education Award, 2021

Awarded ACS-CEI Award for Incorporation of Sustainability into Chemical Education, 2019


  • Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation (EFRI) ($2 million/4 years) on Waste Management and Circularity of Crosslinked Polyurethane Foams
  • PI, DOD-MURI award ($5 million/5 years) on Ionic Liquids in Electroactive Devices (ILEAD).
  • PI, DOD-MURI award ($5 million/5 years) on Macromolecular Architecture for Performance (MAP).
  • Co-PI, NSF IGERT award ($3.2 million/3 years) on Macromolecular Interface with Life Sciences (MILES) with Prof. C. Thatcher (Vet-med) and Prof. S. Duncan (Food Science and Technology).
  • Director, US Army MCOE Multilayered technologies for armored structures and composites (multitask): Teaming the Army Research Laboratories (ARL) with Virginia Tech (6 co-PIs) ($4.5 million/9 years)
  • Outstanding Faculty Award Finalist, State of Higher Education for Virginia, 2018
  • Received the Thermoplastic Elastomer Award from the ACS Rubber Division, 2018
  • President of The Adhesion Society, 2018 - 2020
  • Appointed the Editor in Chief of Polymer International, a Wiley Journal, 2018
  • Received the John C. Schug Research Award from the Department of Chemistry, 2017
  • Elected Vice President of the Adhesion Society, 2016
  • Inducted into the AAAS Fellows program, 2016
  • 2015 VA Outstanding Scientist of the Year, April 2015
  • Received IBM Faculty Award, 2012-2014
  • Received Adhesion Society’s Robert L. Patrick Fellowship Award, 2014
  • Program Chair, Adhesion Society Conference, 2014
  • Virginia Tech Finalist for the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award, 2014
  • Regional Chair, IUPAC World Polymer Congress, MACRO 2012 at Virginia Tech, June 2012
  • Inducted into the ACS Polymer Division Fellows program, 2012
  • Selected to receive the Mark Scholar Award, 2012
  • Received Pressure Sensitive Tape Council, Carl Dahlquist Award, 2012
  • Received PMSE Cooperative Research Award (with Kraton Polymers, Carl Willis), 2011Received the Virginia Tech Alumni Award for Research Excellence, 2010
  • Received the honor of American Chemical Society Fellow, 2009
  • Elected Chair, Polymers Gordon Research Conference (GRC), summer 2009

Polymer Recycling