Research Staff

Center Director:      Prof. José M. Asua
General Manager:   Idoia Azaldegui

  Nombre Puesto Contacto Investigación
Prof. José M. Asua Coordinator +34 943 018181
jm.asua@ehu.es

Fundamental investigation of industrially important polymerization processes.

Dr. M. Ali Aboudzadeh Post-Doc 34 943 015334
mohammadali.aboudzadeh@ehu.eus

Polymer Science and Technology Department, Faculty of Chemistry,
University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU),
Paseo Manuel de Lardizabal 3, 20018.
Donostia-San Sebastián, Spain

Prof. David Mecerreyes Coordinator +34 943 018018
david.mecerreyes@ehu.es

Innovative Polymer Chemistry, polymeric ionic liquids, organic catalysis, polymers for Energy and Environment.

Prof. Aurelio Mateo-Alonso Coordinator +34 943 506066
amateo@polymat.eu
Prof. Jose R. Leiza Coordinator +34 943 015329
jrleiza@ehu.es

Polymer reaction engineering aspects of polymerization in dispersed media (e.g. kinetics, modeling, high solids content formulations), waterborne polymer/inorganic hybrid nanocomposites for anticorrosion coatings, polymerization of water soluble monomers as additives for concrete, renewable resource monomers and their application for the production of novel adhesives and coatings, and electrospinning of polymer latexes.

Prof. Juan Luis Delgado Coordinator +34 943 50 60 64
juanluis.delgado@polymat.eu

Currently he is focused on the preparation of new materials for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar devices.

Prof. Thomas Schäfer Coordinator +34 943 018266
thomas.schafer@ehu.es

Tunable membranes and stimuli-responsive membranes, mass transport and interfacial phenomena in membrane separation processes, biomolecular recognition in non-conventional solvents.

Prof. Alejandro J. Müller Coordinator +34 943018191
alejandrojesus.muller@ehu.es

His fields of interests include: polymer solution rheology, structured fluids, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites).

Prof. Marcelo Calderón Coordinator +34 943 01 8182
marcelo.calderon@polymat.eu
Prof. Jose-Ramon Sarasua Coordinator +34 946 014271
jr.sarasua@ehu.es

Biodegradable polymers, polylactides, micro/nano structural analysis, crystallinity, polymer composites, polymer blends, mechanical properties, thermoplastic processes, regenerative medicine.

Prof. Aitor Barquero Salaberria Research Staff +34 943 018476
aitor.barquero@ehu.eus

His research is focused on the study of the effect of operational variables on the emulsion copolymerization of vinyl acetate copolymers with reactive alkoxysilanes

Prof. Maria Forsyth Coordinator +34 943 015303
maria.forsyth@deakin.edu.au
Prof. María Paulis Coordinator +34 943 018481
maria.paulis@ehu.es

Production of waterborne polymer/polymer and polymer/inorganic nanocomposite dispersion & molecularly imprinted polymers (MIPs) for biotechnological applications.

Dr. Shaghayegh Hamzehlou Postdoc +34 943 018474
shaghayegh.hamzehlou@ehu.eus

Kinetics and topology as microstructure of polyurethane/acrylic hybrid latex synthesized by miniemulsion polymerization using Monte Carlo simulations.

Prof. Radmila Tomovska Coordinator +34 943 018482
radmila.tomovska@ehu.eus

Photopolymerization

Dr. Nerea Casado Coordinator +34 943 01 88 46
nerea.casado@ehu.eus

Her research is focused on Innovative Polymers for Energy Storage.

Dr. Haritz Sardon Coordinator +34 943 015303
haritz.sardon@ehu.es

Sustainable polymerization, organocatalysis, polymers for nanomedicine

Prof. Timothy Edward Long Research Professor +1 480-965-9539
telong@asu.edu
Dr. Agurtzane Mugica Research Staff +34 943 015 469
agurtzane.mugica@ehu.es

Theoretical and experimental study of polymer blends, their interactions and interphases; thermal properties, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites).

Dr. Agustin Etxeberria Research Staff +34 943 015 349
agustin.etxeberria@ehu.es
Dr. Manoli Zubitur Research Staff +34 943 017180
manuela.zubitur@ehu.eus

Her fields of interest include also the preparation and characterization of polymer based nanocomposites for controlled drug release.

Idoia Azaldegui General Manager +34 943 50 60 63
idoia.azaldegui@polymat.eu

Management.

Dr. Ainhoa Lejardi Research Staff +34 946017371
ainhoa.lejardi@ehu.es

Poly (vinyl alcohol), chitosan, graft copolymers, polymer miscibility, hydrogels.

Dr. Emiliano Meaurio Research Staff 946 014077
emiliano.meaurio@ehu.es

Polymer/polymer complexes, polymer blends, specific interactions, structural analysis of crystalline polymers by FTIR, molecular modeling, synthesis, graft copolymers.

Dr. Nicholas Ballard Coordinator +34 943 01 53 30
nicholas.ballard@polymat.eu

Focused on new techniques for producing polymeric particles with controllable microstructure and morphology.

Dr. Mónica Moreno Project & Outreach Manager +34 943 506065
monica.moreno@polymat.eu
Dr. Aitor Larrañaga Coordinator +34 946013935
aitor.larranagae@ehu.eus

Porous scaffolds, polymer composites, bioglass, surface functionalization by plasma, protein grafting, electrospinning, tissue engineering.

Dr. Ester Zuza Research Staff +34 946 013925
ester.zuza@ehu.es

Polymer blends, specific interactions, polymer composites, carbon nano-reinforcements, viscoelasticity, molecular fragility.

Dr. Maike Lukowiak Project Assistant +34 943506068
maike.lukowiak@polymat.eu
Izaskun Balza Administrative +34 943 50 60 62
izaskun.balza@polymat.eu

Administration

Álvaro Martínez E. Administrative Assistant +34 943 01 54 56
alvaro.martinez@polymat.eu
Dr. Jaime Martín Research Staff +34 943015338
jaime.martin@polymat.eu

Fundamental aspects of functional polymers: structural and phase behavior of organic semiconductors, crystallization, liquid crystals, soft-photonics, low dimensionality (confinement) effects on polymer materials.

Dr. Fernando Ruipérez Coordinator +34 943 01 5985
fernando.ruiperez@polymat.eu

Simulation at the quantum scale of structural properties, reactivity and design of polymers and catalysts.

Dr. Coralie Jehanno Postdoc + 34 943 015303
coralie.jehanno@ehu.eus

Chemical recycling of polymers using organocatalysis.

Dr. Jorge Pascual Mielgo Postdoc +34 943015440
jorge.pascual@polymat.eu
Dr. Ricardo Arpad Pérez Camargo Postdoc +34 943 01 53 34
ricardoarpad.perez@ehu.eus
Dr. Iliane Rafaniello Postdoc +34 943 015476
iliane.rafaniello@polymat.eu
Dr. Naroa Sadaba Postdoc +34 943 015323
naroa.sadaba@ehu.eus
Julen Etxeberria Financial Controller 943506068
julen.etxeberria@polymat.eu
Dr. Jone Muñoz Research Staff +34 946014078
jone.munoz@ehu.es

Complex polymer systems, structural analysis, atomic force microscopy, thermal characterization, rheology, 3D printing.

Erald Hasanbelli PhD Student +34 943 506068
erald_hasanbelli001@ehu.es

Synthesis and properties of polycyclic aromatic aza-acenes and heteroacenes derivatives, with a large number of fused aromatic rings.

Liudmila Zhyhmiantovich Administrative Assistant +34 943 50 60 61
liudmila.zhyhmiantovich@polymat.eu
Dr. Amaia Agirre Technician +34 943 018476
amaia.agirre@ehu.es

Characterization of polymer particle sizes and polymer architecture (molar mass, size, conformation, branching...)

Dr.Jorge Luis Olmedo Postdoc + 34 943 015345
jorgeluis.olmedo@ehu.eus
Dr. Eider Matxinandiarena Postdoc + 34 943 015334
eider.matxinandiarena@ehu.eus
Dr. Leire Sangroniz Postdoc + 34 943 018494
leire.sangroniz@ehu.eus
Dr. Estíbaliz González de San Román Martín MALDI-TOF Technician +943 50 6067
estibaliz.gonzalezdesanroman@polymat.eu

She is in charge of the characterization of polymers by MALDI TOF Autoflex mass spectrometer.

Dr. Justine Elgoyhen Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
justine.elgoyhen@ehu.eus
Dr. Elena Gabirondo Amenabar Postdoc +34 943 015303
elena.gabirondo@ehu.eus
Dr. Rafael del Olmo Martínez Postdoc +34 943 01 87 30
rafael.delolmo@polymat.eu
Dr. Sumi Murali Nair Post-Doc +34 943 018476
sumi.murali@polymat.eu
Dr. Elvis Lopes Brito Post-Doc +34 943 018474 / 8460
elvis.lopes@polymat.eu
Dr. Mehdi Naderi Post-Doc +34 943 018482
mehdi.naderi@polymat.eu
Nicolas Ramos PhD Student + 34 943 015303
nicolas.ramos@ehu.eus
Dr. Saibal Bera Postdoc +34 943506067
saibal.bera@polymat.eu
Joaquin Almarza Gonzalez PhD Student +34 943506067
joaquin.almarza@polymat.eu
Maria Angela Motta PhD Student +34 946017813
mariaangela.motta@ehu.eus
Oliver Wolfgang Etzold PhD Student 0034943018169
oliver.etzold@polymat.eu
Dr. Ion Olazabal Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
ion.olazabal@ehu.eus
Mario Iván Peñas Núñez PhD Student 0034 943018191
marioivan.penas@ehu.eus
Carlos Bello Alvarez PhD Student +34 946017318
carlos.bello@ehu.eus
Dr. Xabier Lopez de Pariza Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
xabier.lopezdepariza@ehu.eus
Iulia Caraseva PhD Student 946017318
iulia.caraseva@ehu.eus
Oroitz Sanchez PhD Student +34 946017318
oroitz.sanchez@ehu.eus
Maria Regato Herbella PhD Student +34 943 00 53 21
maria.regato@polymat.eu mregato@cicbiomagune.es
Valentina Pirela Wilhelm PhD Student +34 943015345
valentinachiquinquira.pirela@ehu.eus
Richard Schönlein PhD Student +34 946017813
richardfritz.schonlein@ehu.eus
Dr. Ana Beloqui Elizazu Coordinator +34 943018838
ana.beloquie@ehu.eus
Dr. Sandra Camarero Espinosa Coordinator +34 943 015086
sandra.camarero@polymat.eu
Dr. Robert Hernandez Aguirresarobe Coordinator 94301 5386.
roberto.hernandez@ehu.eus
Prof. Ainara Sangroniz Agudo Research Staff 943 01 88 46
ainara.sangroniz@ehu.eus
Natalia Stankiewicz PhD Student +34 943 01 5440
natalia.stankiewicz@polymat.eu
Dr. María Virginia Candal Pazos Postdoc 34 943018191
mariavirginia.candalp@ehu.eus
Jakes Udabe Sanchez PhD Student +34 943015324
jakes.udabe@polymat.eu
Dr. Antonela Gallastegui Postdoc +34 943 01 88 46
antonela.gallastegui@polymat.eu
Wichsuda Tangsongcharoen PhD Student +34 943 018474
wichsuda.tangsongcharoen@polymat.eu
Dr. Irune Villaluenga Coordinator +34 943 01 87 30
irune.villaluenga@polymat.eu
Naroa López Larrea Phd Student +34 943 01 57 22
naroa.lopezl@ehu.eus
Laura Ballester Bayarri PhD Student +34 943 018169
laura.ballester@polymat.eu
Tijs Lap PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
tijs.lap@polymat.eu
Dr. Edurne Gaston Estanga Project Manager +34 943 015322
edurne.gaston@ehu.eus
Sara Beldarrain PhD Student +34 943 015329
sara.pavo@ehu.eus
Ainhoa Fernández Tena PhD Student +34 943018191
mailto:ainhoa.fernandezt@ehu.eus
Roció López Domene PhD Student +34 943015325
rlopez@cicbiomagune.es
Ana Trajcheva PhD Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
ana.trajcheva@polymat.eu
Giulia Vozzolo PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
giulia.vozzolo@ehu.eus
Aleksandar Sladojevic PhD Student +34 943 018482
aleksandar.sladojevic@polymat.eu
Jacopo Teotonico PhD Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
jacopo.teotonico@polymat.eu
Usue Aspiazu Iturbe PhD Student +34 943 018482
usue.aspiazu@polymat.eu
Dr. Miguel Martín Arroyo Postdoc +34 943506067
miguel.martin@polymat.eu
Dr. Miryam Criado González Coordinator +34 943 01 88 46
miryam.criado@polymat.eu
Dr. Mª Soledad Orellano Postdoc + 34 943015324
soledad.orellano@polymat.eu
Sharon Monaci PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
sharon.monaci@ehu.eus
Yilong Liao PhD Student + 34 943 015345
yliao001@ikasle.ehu.eus
Jorge S. Coba Daza PhD Student + 34 943 015345
jorgesebastian.coba@ehu.eus
Dr. Matias Luis Picchio Postdoc + 34 943015324
matias.picchio@polymat.eu
Xabier Larrañaga Etxabe PhD Student +34 946 01 73 18
xabier.larranaga@ehu.eus
Dr. Miren Aguirre Coordinator +34 943 01 52 82
miren.aguirre@ehu.es

Synthesis of hybrid nanocomposites of cerium oxide/acrylates with improved UV absorption properties.

Emelin Yhoany Luna Barrios PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
emelin.luna@polymat.eu
Marcos Heredero Iborra PhD Student +34 943015324
marcos.heredero@polymat.eu
Sergio Galve Lahoz Phd Student +34 943 01 5440
sergio.galve@polymat.eu
Carlos E. Villacis Segovia PhD Student +34 943 01 5440
carlos.villacis@polymat.eu
Kevin U. Palma Lemus PhD Student +34 943 015329
kevin.palma@polymat.eu
Ana Clara Rolandi PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
ana.rolandi@polymat.eu
Irene Alonso Sampedro PhD Student +34 946017813
irene.alonso@polymat.eu
Marco Caliari PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
marco.caliari@ehu.eus
Mohammad Raef PhD Student + 34 946017813
mohammad.raef@polymat.eu
Dr. Gonzalo Guerrica-echevarria Research Staff +34 943015443
gonzalo.gerrika@ehu.eus
Ainhoa Maiz Iginitz PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
ainhoa.maiz@polymat.eu
Dr. Nora Aramburu Ocariz Research Staff +34 943 015447
nora.aramburu@ehu.eus
Dr Itxaso Calafel Martinez Research Staff +34 943015446 / +34 943018494
itxaso.calafel@ehu.eus
Sandra Ramos Díez PhD Student +34 943018169 / +34 943015327
sandra.ramos@polymat.eu
Pauline Bron PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
paulineannickirene.bron@ehu.eus
Dr. Yogesh Kumar Maurya Postdoc +34 943506067
yogesh.maurya@polymat.eu
Garazi Larrañaga Jaurrieta PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
garazi.larranaga@polymat.eu
Alessandra Stevens Phd Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
alessandra.stevens@polymat.eu
Alister Josu Urain Aird PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
alisterjosu.urain@ehu.eus
Juan Felipe Hincapie Phd Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
juanfelipe.hincapiealvarez@polymat.eu
Dr. Lucas Polo da Fonseca Postdoc 943 015303
lucas.polodafonseca@ehu.eus
Paula Fanlo Pujol Phd Student +34 943 318 212
pfanlo@cidetec.es
Claire Morand Phd Student +33 6 73 04 65 70
claire.morand@polykey.eu
Flore Kilens Phd Student +33 677089007
flore.kilens@polykey.eu
Dr. Marta Ximenis Postdoc +34 943 01 88 46
marta.ximenis@polymat.eu
Seyedeh Maliheh Razavi Esfali Phd Student
smrazavi@uliege.be
Ane Olazabal Phd Student +34 943 015303
ane.olazabal@polykey.eu
Dr. Ishfaq Ahmad Postdoc +34 943506067
ishfaq.ahmad@polymat.eu
Kiarash Farajzadehahary PhD Student +34 943 018475
kiarash.farajzadeh@polymat.eu
Sara Martin Colomo PhD Student +34 946017813
sara.martinc@ehu.eus
Jyoti Devanand Gupta PhD Student +34 943 018482
jyotidevanand.gupta@polymat.eu
Dr. Edurne González Coordinator +34 943 01 53 31
edurne.gonzalezg@ehu.es
Dr. Sergio Martin Saldaña Postdoc +34 943015324
sergiomartin.saldana@polymat.eu
Monika Fidanchevska PhD Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
monika.fidanchevska@polymat.eu
Mathieu Hansel Coureur PhD Student +34 943 018482
mathieu.hansel@polymat.eu
Mario Andres Martinez Yubero PhD Student +34 943 018475
mario.martinez@polymat.eu
Clara Maria Garcia Saez PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
clara.garcia@polymat.eu
Dr. Gabriele Lingua Postdoc +34 943 018475
gabriele.lingua@polymat.eu
Alejandro Herranz Berzosa PHD Student + 34 943 015303
alejandro.herranz@ehu.eus
Jon Ayestaran Uriarte PHD Student +34 943 015303
jon.ayestaran@polymat.eu
Juan Torres Rodriguez PhD Student +34 943 01 53 34
juan.torres@polymat.eu
Jon Lopez de la Calle Zabaleta PhD Student + 34 943 015303
jon.lopezdelacalle@ehu.eus
Dr. Kais Dhbaibi Postdoc +34 943506067
kais.dhbaibi@polymat.eu
Junli Liu PhD Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
junli.liu@polymat.eu
Yuliana Pairetti PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
yuliana.pairetti@polymat.eu
Alvaro del Castillo Corral PhD Student +34 943 018474
alvaroluis.delcastillo@ehu.eus
Neda Khatami PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
nkhatami@cicbiomagune.es
Silvia Cobos Ceballos PhD Student +34 943506067
silvia.cobos@polymat.eu
Dr. Miguel Angel Medel Miranda Postdoc +34 943506067
miguel.medel@polymat.eu
Rajat Rai PhD Student + 34 943 015303
rajat.rai@polymat.eu
Marta Mestre Membrado PhD Student +34 943 015303
marta.mestre@ehu.eus
Dr. Martin Jakubec Postdoc +34 943506067
martin.jakubec@polymat.eu
Jorge Juan Marco Guimbao PhD Student +34 943 01 5440
jorge.marco@polymat.eu
Dr. Elena Romero Ben Postdoc + 34 943015324
elena.romero@polymat.eu
Dr. Luis Alberto Loaeza Diaz Postdoc +34 943506067
luis.loaeza@polymat.eu
Alba Gonda Lazkano PhD Student +34 943 018474 / 8460
alba.gonda@ehu.eus
Marcela de Paula Ramos PhD Student +34 943 01 5440
marcela.depaula@polymat.eu
Dr. Vincent Monnier Postdoc +34 943506067
vincent.monnier@polymat.eu
Dr. Daniele Mantione Coordinator +34 943 01 88 46
daniele.mantione@ehu.eus
Aitor Sánchez Pérez PhD Student +34 943 015476
aitor.sanchez@polymat.eu
Sara Rubio Murillo PhD Student +34 943 018474
sara.rubio@ehu.eus
Aritz Lamas Núñez PhD Student +34 943 015303
aritz.lamas@ehu.eus
Dr. Krishan Kumar Postdoc + 34 943 01 81 69 / 53 27
krishan.kumar@polymat.eu
Dr. Sima Lashkari Postdoc +34 943 01 87 30
sima.lashkari@polymat.eu
Dr. Sergio Ramirez Barroso Postdoc +34 943015440
sergio.ramirez@polymat.eu
Sergio Javier Peñas Núñez PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
sergio.penas@polymat.eu
Dr. Federica Santino Postdoc +34 943 01 5440
federica.santino@polymat.eu
Dr. Maria del Carmen Mañas Torres Postdoc + 34 943015324
mariadelcarmen.manas@polymat.eu
Leire San José Peraita PhD Student +34 943 015476
leire.sanjose@polymat.eu
Dr. Maria Barcenilla Castellano Postdoc +34 943506067
maria.barcenilla@ehu.eus
Cecile Moussard PhD Student +34 943 018474
cecile.moussard@ehu.eus
Dr. Ilaria Abdel Aziz Postdoc +34 943 01 88 46
ilaria.abdel@ehu.eus
Asier Panfilo Elechiguerra PhD Student +34 946017813
asier.panfilo@ehu.eus
Isabel del Barrio Gómez PhD Student +34 943506067
isabel.delbarrio@polymat.eu
Jon Arrizabalaga Legarra PhD Student +34 943 015476
jon.arrizabalaga@surphase.eu
Dr. Andoni Rodríguez López de Abetxuko Post Doc +34 943015324
andoni.rodriguez@polymat.eu
Dr. Danila Merino Research Staff +34 943 015303
danila.merino@polymat.eu
Dr. Fernando Vidal Peña Postdoc +34 943 015303
fernando.vidal@polymat.eu
Pegah Sanjarnia PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
pegah.sanjarnia@polymat.eu
Jackeline Soto Cruz PhD Student +34 943015324
jackeline.soto@ehu.eus
Dr. Gabriel Perli Postdoc +34 943 015303
gabriel.perli@polymat.eu
Dr. Oier Pajuelo Corral Postdoc +34 943 01 5440
oier.pajuelo@polymat.eu
Amirreza Mansoori-Kermani PhD Student + 34 946017813
amirreza.mansoorikemani@ehu.eus
Temiloluwa Emmanuel Amoo PhD Student + 34 943 015303
temiloluwaemmanuel.amoo@ehu.eus
Marc Frederic Malter PhD Student +34 943 018482
marcfrederic.malter@ehu.eus
Alodi Pascal Ruiz de Eloizaga PhD Student +34 943015332
alodi.pascal@polymat.eu
Jaya Baranwal PhD Student +34 943 015303
jaya.baranwal@polymat.eu
Rakesh Kumar Maji PhD Student +34 943015324
rakesh.kumar@polymat.eu
Malavika Raj PhD Student + 34 943 015303
malavika.raj@ehu.eus
Unai Calvo Castro PhD Student 943 01 5985
unai.calvo@polymat.eu
Ane Llucia Salvador PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
ane.llucia@polymat.eu
Fateme Shariatikia PhD Student 0034943015345
fateme.shariatikia@polymat.eu
Alice Marchand PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
alice.marchand@polymat.eu
Oihane Varela PhD Student
Adrian Moron Blanco PhD Student +34 943506067
adrian.moron@polymat.eu
Aitor Ontoria PhD Student 34 943018838
aitor.ontoria@ehu.eus
Sara González González + 34 943 015303
sara.gonzalez@ehu.eus
Itziar Insua PhD Student 943015386
itziar.insua@ehu.eus
Md Shafi Alam PhD Student 943 01 88 46
shafi.alam@polymat.eu
Tansu Abbasoglu PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
tansu.abbasoglu@polymat.eu
Pablo López Matanza PhD Student + 34 943 015345
pablo.lopez@polymat.eu
Dr. Ibon Odriozola Post-Doc 34 943 018018
ibon.odriozola@polymat.eu
Dr. Federico Begato Post-Doc 943506069
federico.begato@polymat.eu
Elena Righini PhD Student 34 943 01 88 46
elena.righini@polymat.eu