Research Staff

Center Director:      Prof. José M. Asua
General Manager:   Idoia Azaldegui

  Name Position Contact Research
Prof. José M. Asua Center Director +34 943 018181
jm.asua@ehu.es

Fundamental investigation of industrially important polymerization processes.

Prof. David Mecerreyes Vice Director +34 943 018018
david.mecerreyes@ehu.es

Innovative Polymer Chemistry, polymeric ionic liquids, organic catalysis, polymers for Energy and Environment.

Hegoi Amestoy PhD Student +34 946 017318
hegoi.amestoy@ehu.es

Polymer nano-composite, Carbon nanotube, Polymer radiopaque composite, Surface functionalization , tissue engineering, porous scaffolds.

Prof. Aurelio Mateo-Alonso Research Staff +34 943 506066
amateo@polymat.eu
Prof. Jose R. Leiza Group Leader +34 943 015329
jrleiza@ehu.es

His current research interests are focused on the following topics: polymer reaction engineering aspects of polymerization in dispersed media (e.g., kinetics, modeling, high solids content formulations), waterborne polymer/inorganic hybrid nanocomposites for anticorrosion coatings, polymerization of water soluble monomers as additives for concrete, renewable resource monomers and their application for the production of novel adhesives and coatings, and electrospinning of polymer latexes.

Prof. Juan Luis Delgado Group Leader +34 943 50 60 64
juanluis.delgado@polymat.eu

Currently he is focused on the preparation of new materials for their incorporation in perovskite-based solar devices.

Prof. Thomas Schäfer Group Leader +34 943 018266
thomas.schafer@ehu.es

Tunable membranes and stimuli-responsive membranes, mass transport and interfacial phenomena in membrane separation processes, biomolecular recognition in non-conventional solvents.

Prof. Alejandro J. Müller Research Staff +34 943018191
alejandrojesus.muller@ehu.es

His fields of interests include: polymer solution rheology, structured fluids, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites).

Prof. Marcelo Calderón Group Leader +34 943 01 8182
marcelo.calderon@polymat.eu
Prof. Jose-Ramon Sarasua Group Leader +34 946 014271
jr.sarasua@ehu.es

Biodegradable polymers, polylactides, micro/nano structural analysis, crystallinity, polymer composites, polymer blends, mechanical properties, thermoplastic processes, regenerative medicine.

Prof. Ronen Zangi Group Leader +34 943 01 8112
r.zangi@ikerbasque.org

Computational studies of chemical and biological systems in condensed phases, under confinements, and at interfaces. In addition, conformations and free energies of synthetic and biological macromolecules, such as DNA-protein recognition and ligand-receptor binding.

Dr.Aitor Barquero Salaberria Post-Doc +34 943 018474
aitor.barquero@ehu.eus

His research is focused on the study of the effect of operational variables on the emulsion copolymerization of vinyl acetate copolymers with reactive alkoxysilanes

Dr. Andere Basterretxea Post Doc 34 943 01 88 46
andere.basterrechea@ehu.eus

The design of more sustainable catalysts for the synthesis of polyamides and polyesters and the study of possible biomedical applications.

Prof. Maria Forsyth Senior Research Professor +34 943 015303
maria.forsyth@deakin.edu.au
Prof. María Paulis Research Staff +34 943 018481
maria.paulis@ehu.es

Production of waterborne polymer/polymer and polymer/inorganic nanocomposite dispersion & molecularly imprinted polymers (MIPs) for biotechnological applications.

Dr. Shaghayegh Hamzehlou Post-Doc +34 943 018474
shaghayegh.hamzehlou@ehu.es

Kinetics and topology as microstructure of polyurethane/acrylic hybrid latex synthesized by miniemulsion polymerization using Monte Carlo simulations.

Dr. Nerea Casado Post doctoral researcher +34 943 01 88 46
nerea.casado@ehu.eus

Her research is focused on Innovative Polymers for Energy Storage.

Prof. Radmila Tomovska Research Staff +34 943 018482
radmila_tomovska@ehu.es

Photopolymerization

Dr. Haritz Sardon Research Staff +34 943 015303
haritz.sardon@ehu.es

Sustainable polymerization, organocatalysis, polymers for nanomedicine

Prof. Agurtzane Mugica Research Staff +34 943 015 469
agurtzane.mugica@ehu.es

Theoretical and experimental study of polymer blends, their interactions and interphases; thermal properties, morphology, nucleation, crystallization and crystallization kinetics of semi-crystalline materials and of multiphasic materials (in particular polymer blends, block copolymers, biopolymers and nano-composites)

Dr. Silvia Collavini Post Doc + 34 943 01 5440
silvia.collavini@polymat.eu

Investigating new materials suitable for Perovskite-based Solar Cells.

Prof. Amaia Butrón Research Staff +34 946 014994
amaia.butron@ehu.eus
Prof. Agustin Etxeberria Research Staff
agustin.etxeberria@ehu.es
Prof. Manoli Zubitur Associate Professor +34 943 017180
manuela.zubitur@ehu.eus

Her fields of interest include also the preparation and characterization of polymer based nanocomposites for controlled drug release.

Idoia Azaldegui General Manager +34 943 50 60 63
idoia.azaldegui@polymat.eu

Management.

Dr. Ainhoa Lejardi Research Staff +34 946017371
ainhoa.lejardi@ehu.es

Poly (vinyl alcohol), chitosan, graft copolymers, polymer miscibility, hydrogels.

Dr. Emiliano Meaurio Research Staff 946 014077
emiliano.meaurio@ehu.es

Polymer/polymer complexes, polymer blends, specific interactions, structural analysis of crystalline polymers by FTIR, molecular modeling, synthesis, graft copolymers.

Dr. Nicholas Ballard Research Staff +34 943 018475
nicholas.ballard@polymat.eu

Focused on new techniques for producing polymeric particles with controllable microstructure and morphology

Dr. Marta Martínez-Abadía Post-Doc +34 943 506068
marta.martinez@polymat.eu
Izaskun Balza Administrative +34 943 50 60 62
izaskun.balza@polymat.eu

Administration

Dr. Aitor Larrañaga Research Staff +34 946013935
aitor.larranagae@ehu.eus

Porous scaffolds, polymer composites, bioglass, surface functionalization by plasma, protein grafting, electrospinning, tissue engineering.

Dr. Amaia Agirre Technician +34 943 018476
amaia.agirre@ehu.es

Characterization of polymer particle sizes and polymer architecture (molar mass, size, conformation, branching...)

Dr. Ester Zuza Research Staff +34 946 013925
ester.zuza@ehu.es

Biodegradable polyesters, polylactides, stereocomplexation, miscibility, specific interactions, crystallinity, molecular fragility, composites, radiopacity, polydopamine, mechanical properties, biodegradation, thermoplastic transformation procedures, high temperature thermoplastics (HTTP).

Dr. Mónica Moreno European Project Manager & Outreach Manager +34 943 506065
monica.moreno@polymat.eu
Antonio Domínguez Alfaro PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
antonio.dominguez@polymat.eu
Sebastian M. Dron PhD Student +34 943 018474
sebastian_dron001@ehu.eus

The goal of his research is the improvement of these abilities for coating applications.His project is part of the Industrial Liaison Program (ILP).

Dr. Luca Porcarelli Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
luca_porcarelli001@ehu.eus
Dr. Alberto Riaño Post-Doc 34 943 50 60 67
alberto.riano@polymat.eu
Dr. Jaime Martín Research Staff +34 943015338
jaime.martin@polymat.eu

Fundamental aspects of functional polymers: structural and phase behavior of organic semiconductors, crystallization, liquid crystals, soft-photonics, low dimensionality (confinement) effects on polymer materials.

Dr. Miren Aguirre Research Staff +34 943 018476
miren.aguirre@ehu.es

Synthesis of hybrid nanocomposites of cerium oxide/acrylates with improved UV absorption properties.

Dr. Fernando Ruipérez Research Staff +34 943 01 5985
fernando.ruiperez@polymat.eu

Simulation at the quantum scale of structural properties, reactivity and design of polymers and catalysts.

Dr. Coralie Jehanno Post Doc + 34 943 015303
coralie.jehanno@ehu.eus

Chemical recycling of polymers using organocatalysis.

Javier Mateos PhD Student +34 943 506067
javier.mateos@polymat.eu
Beñat Olave PhD Student +34 943 018399
benat.olave@polymat.eu
Bertha T. Pérez PhD Student +34 943 018474
bperez044@ikasle.ehu.eus

Her research program is focused on the microwave initiated polymerization as powerful tool toward design of novel polymer and composite nanoparticles

Iliane Rafaniello PhD Student +34 943 018399
iliane.rafaniello@polymat.eu
Naroa Sadaba PhD Student +34 943 015323
naroa.sadaba@polymat.eu
Dr.Maryam Safari Post-Doc +34 943 01 53 32
maryam.safari@polymat.eu

Synthesize multiphasic biobased polyesters via confinement method and also characterization.

Esther Udabe PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
esther.udabe@polymat.eu
Dr. Jone Muñoz Research Staff +34 946014078
jone.munoz@ehu.es

Complex polymer systems, structural analysis, atomic force microscopy, thermal characterization, rheology, 3D printing.

Dr. Edurne González Temporary Lecturer +34 943 018475
edurne.gonzalezg@ehu.es

The fundamental investigation of waterborne polymers with special attention to the influence of functional polymeric emulsifiers on film formation and properties.

Erald Hasanbelli PhD Student +34 943 506068
erald_hasanbelli001@ehu.es

Synthesis and properties of polycyclic aromatic aza-acenes and heteroacenes derivatives, with a large number of fused aromatic rings.

Aurélie Destephen PhD Student +34 943 018474
aurelie.destephen@polymat.eu

Her project consists in developing cationic polymerisation technique in aqueous media.

Sara Marina Barbier PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
sara.marina@polymat.eu
Nerea Jiménez PhD Student +34 943 018474
nerea.jimenez@polymat.eu

 I am studying the influence of the incorporation of hydrogen bonding moieties to the formulation of waterborne coatings.

Fermín Elizalde PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
fermin.elizalde@polymat.eu
Mikel Irigoyen PhD Student +34 943018186
mikel.irigoyen@polymat.eu
Alvaro Gómez López PhD Student +34 943 01 57 22
alvaro.gomez@ehu.eus
Maialen Argaiz PhD Student +34 943 018474
maialen.argaiz@polymat.eu

Her research project is focused on introduction of ionic interparticle complexation within polymer films for improvement of properties and performance of waterborne protective coatings.

Jorge Luis Olmedo PhD Student + 34 943 015345
jolmedo001@ikasle.ehu.eus
Eider Matxinandiarena PhD Student + 34 943 015334
eider.matxinandiarena@ehu.eus
Dr. Leire Sangroniz Post-Doc + 34 943 018494
leire.sangroniz@ehu.eus
Marine Lechartier PhD Studente + 34 943 01 88 46
marine.lechartier@ehu.eus
Dr. Rajeev K. Dubey Post-Doc + 34 943 50 60 68
rajeev.dubey@polymat.eu
Dr. Estíbaliz González de San Román Martín MALDI-TOF Technician +943 50 6067
estibaliz.gonzalezdesanroman@polymat.eu

She is in charge of the characterization of polymers by MALDI TOF Autoflex mass spectrometer.

Dr. Nikolaos Politakos Post-doc +34 943 018482
nikolaos.politakos@ehu.eus

 His current research topics are focused in the preparation of 3D sponge like graphene oxide materials for CO2 capture and photocatalysis.

Iranzu Barbarin Phd Student +34 943 018482
iranzu.barbarin@ehu.eus

The project is focused on the development of self-assembly 3D graphene-based polymer materials for CO2 capture and conversion.

Fabian Wenzel Phd Student +34 943 015329
fabian.wenzel@polymat.eu
Dr. Nuria Alegret Ramon Post-Doc 34 943 018018
nuria.alegret@ehu.eus
Dr. Liliana C. Tomé Post-Doc +34 943 018018
lilianasofi.carvalho@ehu.eus
Marta Alvarez Phd Student 34 943 018018
marta.alv.tirado@gmail.com
Hesham Ahmed Mostafa Abdeldaim Phd Student +34 943 018482
hesham.abdeldaim@polymat.eu
Maialen Galdeano Fraile Phd Student +34 943 01 5985
maialen.galdeano@polymat.eu
Félix Hernández Culebras Phd Student +34 943 506068
felix.hernandez@polymat.eu
Elisabet de Bolòs Sánchez Phd Student +34 943 506068
elisabet.debolos@polymat.eu
David Esporrín Ubieto Phd Student + 34 943 01 81 69 / 53 27
david.esporrin@polymat.eu
Dr. Neha Tiwary Post-Doc +34 943 50 60 61
neha.tiwari@polymat.eu
Sheraz Tariq Phd Student +34 943 018481
sheraz.tariq@polymat.eu
Huiyi Wang Phd Student +34 943 50 60 61
huiyi.wang@polymat.eu
Justine Elgoyhen Phd Student +34 943 01 88 46
justine.elgoyhen@gmail.com
Nicolás María Muñoz Phd Student +34 943 01 53 34
nicolas.maria@polymat.eu
Dr.Connie Josefina Ocando Cordero Post-Doc +34 943018191
connie.ocando@polymat.eu
Adrián Pérez López Phd Student +34 943 018475
adrian.perez@polymat.eu
Elena Gabirondo Amenabar Phd Student +34 943 015303
elena.gabirondo@ehu.eus
Soline Vauthier Phd Student +34 943 01 88 46
soline.vauthier@gmail.com
Rafael del Olmo Martínez Phd Student 34 943 01 88 46
rafael.delolmo@polymat.eu
Edurne Marín PhD Student +34 946 01 73 18
edurne.marin@ehu.eus
Álvaro Martínez Escobar Administrative Assistant +34 943 01 54 56
alvaro.martinez@polymat.eu
Diulia Caroline Quites Rodrigues PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
diulia.quites@polymat.eu
Andrea Melissa Cabrera Espinoza PhD Student 943015440
andrea.cabrera@polymat.eu
Sumi Murali Nair Phd Student +34 943 018476
sumi.murali@polymat.eu
Elvis Lopes Brito Phd Student +34 943 018474
elvis.lopes@polymat.eu
Dr. Nicolas Jean-Christopher Goujon Post-Doc :+34 943 01 88 46
nicolas.goujon@polymat.eu
Dr. Eva Sánchez Rexach Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
evagloria.sanchez@ehu.eus
Mehdi Naderi Phd Student +34 943 018482
mehdi.naderi@polymat.eu
Dr. Maike Lukowiak Project Assistant 943506068
maike.lukowiak@polymat.eu
Mauro Marongiu PhD Student 943506061
mauro.marongiu@polymat.eu
Dr. Edgar Gutiérrez Fernández Post Doc +34 943015338
edgar.gutierrez@ehu.eus
Dr. Oihane Llorente Zabala Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
oihane.llorente@ehu.eus
Nicolas Ramos PhD Student + 34 943 015303
nicolas.ramos@ehu.eus
Dr. Saibal Bera Post Doc + 34 943 50 60 68
saibal.bera@polymat.eu
Maria Rosaria Caputo Phd Student +34 943 01 53 34
mariarosaria.caputo@polymat.eu
Joaquin Almarza Gonzalez PhD Student 943506068
joaquin.almarza@polymat.eu
Maria Angela Motta PhD Student 0034943018169
mariaangela.motta@polymat.eu
Oliver Wolfgang Etzold Phd Student 0034943018169
oliver.etzold@polymat.eu
Jinxiu Zhou Phd Student 9430153 34
zhoujinxiu47@qq.com
Ion Olazabal Phd Student +34 943 01 88 46
ion.o93@gmail.com
Mario Iván Peñas Núñez PhD Student 0034 943018191
mpenas.3@alumni.unav.es
Dr. Gregorio Guzman Gonzalez Post Doc +34 943 01 88 46
gregguzmn@gmail.com
Carlos Bello Alvarez Phd Student +34 946017318
carlos.bello@ehu.eus
Xabier Lopez de Pariza Phd Student +34 943 01 88 46
xlopezdepariza001@ikasle.ehu.eus
Iulia Caraseva Phd Student 946017318
iulia.caraseva@ehu.eus
Oroitz Sanchez Phd Student +34 946017318
oroitz.sanchez@ehu.eus
Elissabetta Zucatti Phd Student
ezuccatti@nanogune.eu
Maria Regato Herbella Phd Student 00 34 943 00 53 21
mregato@cicbiomagune.es
Valentina Pirela Wilhelm Phd Student +34 943015338
valentina.pirela@polymat.eu
Richard Schönlein PhD Student 0034943018494
richardfritz.schonlein@ehu.eus
Mohammed el Amine Hanifa Phd Student +34 943015338
amine.hanifa@polymat.eu
Thibault Castagnet PhD Student +34 943 018476
thibault.castagnet@univ-pau.fr
Ainara Aguirre Mikelarena PhD Student +34 943 018476
ainara.agirre@ehu.eus
Dr. Ana Beloqui Elizazu Research Staff +34 943018838
ana.beloquie@ehu.eus
Dr. Sandra Camarero Espinosa Research Staff +34 943 015086
sandra.camarero@polymat.eu
Dr. Robert Hernández Research Staff 94301 5386.
roberto.hernandez@ehu.eus
Dr.Ainara Sangroniz Agudo Post Doc 943 01 88 46
ainara.sangroniz@ehu.eus
Natalia Stankiewicz PhD +34 943 01 5440
natalia.stankiewicz@polymat.eu
Dr. María Virginia Candal Pazos Post Doc 34 943018191
mariavirginia.candalp@ehu.eus
Jakes Udabe Sanchez PhD Student 0034943018169/0034943015327
jakes.udabe@polymat.eu
Dr. Antonela Gallastegui Post-Doc +34 943 01 88 46
antonela.gallastegui@polymat.eu
Wichsuda Tangsongcharoen PhD Student +34 943 018474
wichsuda.tangsongcharoen@polymat.eu
Dr. Irune Villaluenga Research Staff +34 943 01 87 30
irune.villaluenga@polymat.eu
Dr. Satyajit Das Post-Doc 943506068
satyajit.das@polymat.eu
Ousmane Camara PhD Student +34 943 01 88 46
ousmane.camara@ehu.eus
Naroa López Larrea Master and undergraduate student +34 943 01 57 22
naroa.lopez@polymat.eu
Kyle Douglas Van Gordon PhD Student +34 943 015086
kyledouglas.vangordon@polymat.eu
Ana Aguzin PhD Student +54 9 342 5080530
anaguzin@gmail.com
Pierre Luca Stigliano PhD +34 943 01 88 46
pierreluca.stigliano@polymat.eu
Nora Almandoz Garmendia PhD +34 943 01 88 46
nora.almandoz@polymat.eu
Laura Ballester Bayarri PhD Student +34 943 018169
laura.ballester@polymat.eu
Antton Ibarbia Iribar PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
antton.ibarbia@polymat.eu

Centro Joxe Mari Korta
Avenida de Tolosa, 72
20018 Donostia-San Sebastián
Spain

Tijs Lap PhD Student + 34 943 01 88 46
tijs.lap@polymat.eu
Dr. Edurne Gaston Estanga Project Manager +34 943 015322
edurne.gaston@ehu.eus
Sara Pavo Beldarrain PhD Student +34 943 015329
sara.pavo@ehu.eus
Ander González de Txabarri PhD Student +34 943 018181
agonzalezdetxab001@ehu.eus
Ainhoa Fernández Tena PhD Student +34 943018191
mailto:ainhoa.fernandezt@ehu.eus
Roció López Domene PhD Student +34 943018838
rlopez@cicbiomagune.es